Group Settings and Roles

Godinterest allows any member to create a group around a common interest or purpose. Here are some basic settings that will help you get your Godinterest group up and running.

Privacy Options

When creating a group, you have the option of making your group Public, Private, or Hidden.

  1. Public groups are visible in all group directories. The contents of the group – activity updates, forum posts, and any additional group functionality you might add through plugins – is publicly accessible. Anyone in your Godinterest community can join a Public group.
  2. Private groups are also visible in group directories. The group name and group description remain available for all to see. However, the contents of the group are accessible only to members. Moreover, group membership is controlled: members of the Godinterest community must request membership, which can only be granted by a group administrator.
  3. Hidden groups are invisible to non-members. These group names and descriptions are not listed in the sitewide directory, and their contents are accessible only to members of the group. Because the group is unlisted, users cannot request membership. Instead, individuals can only join the group by invitation.

Group administrators can change a group’s privacy settings at any time by visiting the group’s Admin tab > Group Settings.

Group Roles

Godinterest group members have three roles available to them.

  1. Members: By default, when a user joins a group, he or she has the role of member. What does it mean to be a member of a Godinterest group? That depends on what kind of group it is.
    1. In a public group, members are able to post to that group’s forums, as well as submit content to other parts of the group. When a user posts to the discussion forum of a public group, the user automatically becomes a member of the group. Additionally, being a member of a group means having the group’s activity aggregated in your Activity > My Groups activity stream.
    2. In a private group or a hidden group, members have all the same privileges as members in a public group. Additionally, being a member of a private group means that you get to see who else is a member of the group and that you’re able to send invites to other users.
  2. Moderators: When a group member is promoted to be a moderator of the group, it means that the member receives the following additional abilities:
    1. Edit, close, and delete any forum topic or post in the group
  3. Administrators: Administrators have total control over the contents and settings of a group. That includes all the abilities of moderators, as well as the ability to:
    1. Change group-wide settings (Admin > Settings). For instance, administrators can turn group forums on or off, change group status from public to private, and toggle on or off various other group functionality provided by plugins
    2. Change the group avatar (Admin > Group Avatar)
    3. Manage group members (Admin > Manage Members). More specifically, only group administrators have the power to promote members to moderators, or to ban individual users from the group
    4. Delete the group (Admin > Delete)

    The individual who creates the group is automatically the group’s first administrator. As a result, each group must have at least one administrator, though the first admin can choose to appoint others.

There are no comments

Your email address will not be published.